Update Colorado SB 19-181 – New Commission Takes the Reigns

The interim Colorado Oil and Gas Conservation Commission (“COGCC”) had its first meeting since the enactment of SB 19-181 on May 21, 2019. The permeant COGCC is to be appointed by July 1, 2020. The nine-member panel is comprised of: Erin Overtuf (D; environmental representative); Howard Boigon (D; oil and gas attorney); Brenda Haun (unaffiliated; royalty member); John Messner (D; local government representative); Liane Jollon (unaffiliated; public health expert); Mark Hopkins (R; technical expert); Pam Eaton (D; wildlife protection); and ex-officio voting members Dan Gibbs (Department of Natural Resources) and Jill Hunsaker Ryan (Department of Public Health and Environment).

SB 19-181, which was enacted on April 16, 2019, alters the focus of the COGCC from fostering oil and gas development to protecting public health and safety as well as the environment. On May 17, 2019, COGCC director, Jeff Robbins, released new criteria developed to determine if drilling permit applications require additional review before obtaining approval. The new criteria are geared toward the new focus of the COGCC and include whether the proposed wells are to be located near schools, residential areas, green spaces, or waterways.

For more information on SB 19-181, please see our post from May 1, 2019. If you have any questions or concerns regarding SB 19-181, please contact the Oil and Gas Group at Dickie McCamey’s Denver Office.

Jack R. Luellen

The material on this site is for general informational purposes only and is not intended to be, and should not be construed to be, legal advice. There shall be no liability accepted as a result of any improper reliance on the material on this site. A qualified lawyer should always be consulted with regard to any specific legal issue or problem.